Meeting Register Page

From Theory to Theorizing - Practicing Multiple Styles of Theorizing
Speakers: Professor Santi Furnari (City University) and Professor Joep Cornelissen (Erasmus University)

Time: Thursday, 7th of October at 10am (Eastern) / 3pm (London) / 7.30pm (Delhi). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (including Q&A).

Theory and theoretical contributions come in different forms, such as process theories, configurational theories and correlational theories. What are the building blocks of each of these different forms? And what are practical ways in which we can develop the contribution in each of these forms? In this practical session, we will outline different styles of theorizing (e.g., propositional theorizing, configurational theorizing) and through practical exercises involving participants demonstrate how different forms of theories can be developed and written up.

Recommended readings:
- Furnari, S., Crilly, D., Misangyi, V. F., Greckhamer, T., Fiss, P. C., & Aguilera, R. (2021). ‘Capturing causal complexity: Heuristics for configurational theorizing’. Academy of Management Review, forthcoming.
- Cornelissen, J., Höllerer, M.A., and Seidl, D. (2021). ‘What theory is and can be: Forms of theorizing in organizational scholarship’. Organization Theory, doi:10.1177/26317877211020328.

About the speakers:
- Santi Furnari (Professor of Strategy at Bayes Business School, City University)
- Joep Cornelissen (Professor in Management at Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University and Chair in Strategy and Organisation (part-time) at the University of Liverpool Management School)

This webinar is supported by Organization Theory journal.

For queries, please contact Ibrat Djabbarov i.djabbarov@cranfield.ac.uk.

Oct 7, 2021 03:00 PM in London

Loading
* Required information