Meeting Register Page

Consider the Reader
Speaker: Professor Andrew King (Boston University)

Time: Wednesday, 18th of January at 10am (EST) / 3pm (London) / 8.30pm (Delhi). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (incl. Q&A).

To build knowledge of management science, we must learn from each other. Yet as researchers we often neglect to consider what readers want and need. I evaluate barriers to reader learning and propose ways to improve our research.

Recommended reading:
- King A.A. (Working paper) Writing Empirical Reports for Readers.
- Berchicci, L., & King, A. A. (2022). Building knowledge by mapping model uncertainty in six studies of social and financial performance. Strategic Management Journal, 43(7), 1319-1346.
- King A.A. (working paper) Lovely vs Likely: Explanations of the Mann Gulch Disaster - How should we balance lovely and likely
- Pratt, M. G., Kaplan, S., & Whittington, R. (2020). Editorial essay: The tumult over transparency: Decoupling transparency from replication in establishing trustworthy qualitative research. Administrative Science Quarterly, 65(1), 1-19.

About the speaker:
Professor Andrew A. King’s “contributions have been central to the development of the field of environmental management/sustainable business.” He also has conducted research on innovation, business adaptation and resilience, and epistemology. He has been a Marvin Bower Fellow at the Harvard Business School, an Aspen Institute Faculty Pioneer, and an AOM Distinguished Scholar. Andy holds degrees in mechanical engineering from Brown University (BA) and the University of California (MS). He received a PhD in Management from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Jan 18, 2023 03:00 PM in London

Loading
* Required information