Meeting Register Page

Organizing for Societal Grand Challenges – part II
Speakers:
- Sascha Friesike (Berlin University of the Arts),
- Emilio Marti (Erasmus),
- Matteo Ronzani (Manchester)


Time: Wednesday, 27 April at 9am (US Eastern) / 2pm (London) / 3pm (CET). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (including Q&A).


We discuss how researchers who study societal grand challenges can create impact through outreach activities and teaching. Sascha Friesike elaborates on the idea of a “post-heroic” perspective on impact in which seemingly mundane activities become linked in a meaningful way. Matteo Ronzani, in turn, explores barriers that prevent learning about grand challenges by drawing on the concept of “uncomfortable knowledge.” Emilio Marti introduces and moderates the session. The session builds on the recently published volume of Research in the Sociology of Organizations (RSO) on Organizing for Societal Grand Challenges.

Readings:
• Gümüsay, A. A., Marti, E., Trittin-Ulbrich, H., & Wickert, C. (2022). How organizing matters for societal grand challenges. In: Research in the Sociology of Organizations, Vol. 79, pp. 1–14. Access via www.emerald.com/insight/content/doi/10.1108/S0733-558X20220000079002
• Friesike, S., Dobusch, L. and Heimstädt, M. (2022), Striving for societal impact as an early-career researcher: Reflections on five common concerns. In: Research in the Sociology of Organizations, Vol. 79, pp. 239–255. Access via www.emerald.com/insight/content/doi/10.1108/S0733-558X20220000079022
• Gatzweiler, M.K., Frey-Heger, C. and Ronzani, M. (2022), Grand challenges and business education: Dealing with barriers to learning and uncomfortable knowledge. In: Research in the Sociology of Organizations, Vol. 79, pp. 221–237. Access via www.emerald.com/insight/content/doi/10.1108/S0733-558X20220000079021

For queries, please contact Ibrat Djabbarov: i.djabbarov@cranfield.ac.uk.

Apr 27, 2022 02:00 PM in London

Loading
* Required information