Meeting Register Page

How to Do Relevant Research - Part 2
Title: Navigating the Networked Value Stream of Organizational and Management Research

Speakers: Dr. Susan Albers Mohrman, Prof Christopher G. Worley and Prof John Boudreau

Time: Thursday, 14th October at 7am (Pacific) / 10am (Eastern) / 3pm (London) / 7.30pm (Delhi). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (including Q&A).

The eco-system of organizational knowledge is an expansive, diverse, and dynamic network of actors and activities. Organizational researchers who aspire to have a positive impact on practice face the demanding task of locating their work in space and time, taking into account the coevolution of many forces that are shaping organizations and the arc of time. Knowledge advances and becomes integrated into practice through networks of people and activity. This webinar will include case examples of research programs that have navigated the dynamic knowledge eco-system and made strong contributions to practice over time.

Reading:
• Mirvis, P. H., Mohrman, S. & Worley, C. G. (forthcoming, October 2021) How to Do Relevant Research: From the ivory tower to the real world. Edward Elgar Publishing
• Bartunek, J. & McKenzie, J. (Eds.) (2017) Academic Practitioner Research Partnerships: Developments, complexities and opportunities. London: Routledge
• Mirvis, P.H. (2008). Academic-practitioner learning forums: A new model for interorganizational research. In Shani, A.B., Mohrman, S.A., Pasmore, W.A., Stymne, B.N. & Adler, N. (Eds.), (2008). Handbook of Collaborative management Research (pp. 201-224). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
• Aguinis, H., Cummings, C., Ramani, R. S., & Cummings, T. G. (2020). “An A is an A”: The new bottom line for valuing academic research. Academy of Management Perspectives, 34(1), 135-154
• Mohrman, S., Gibson, C., & Mohrman Jr, A. (2001). Doing research that is useful to practice: A model and empirical exploration. AMJ


For queries, please contact Ibrat Djabbarov i.djabbarov@cranfield.ac.uk.

Oct 14, 2021 03:00 PM in London

Loading
* Required information