Meeting Register Page

How to Do Relevant Research -- Part 1
Title: From the Ivory Tower to the Real World

Speakers: Dr Philip H. Mirvis, Dr. Susan Albers Mohrman, Prof Christopher G. Worley

Time: Thursday, 30 September at 7am (Pacific) / 10am (Eastern) / 3pm (London) / 7.30pm (Delhi). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (including Q&A).

There has never been a more important time for researchers to generate useful knowledge, catalyze change, and contribute to managerial and organizational effectiveness. Managers need practical insights, research-based evidence, and knowledge partners to inform and guide their actions. Doing practical research means studying the real issues, problems, and challenges facing organizations and the people that work in and manage them. It means generating knowledge that is: 1) relevant to practice, 2) useful to practitioners, 3) actionable; and 4) based on research that is grounded in theory and methods that hew to standards of reliability and validity, and that speaks to the literature, academic peers, and practitioners. This webinar addresses and describes how to do sweet spot research that is in the middle space between the worlds of academe and practice.

Recommended readings:
• Mirvis, P. H., Mohrman, S. & Worley, C. G. (forthcoming, October 2021) How to Do Relevant Research: From the ivory tower to the real world. Edward-Elgar
• Hoffman, A. (2021) The Engaged Scholar: Expanding the impact of academic research in today’s world. Stanford University Press
• Mohrman, S. and Lawler, E. (eds.), (2011) Useful Research: Advancing Theory and Practice. Berrett-Kohler
• Van de Ven, A. H. (2007) Engaged Scholarship: A guide for organizational and social research. Oxford University Press
• Worley, C.G., Mohrman, S.A. & Nevitt, J.A. (2011) Large Group Interventions: An Empirical Field Study of Their Composition, Process, and Outcomes. The Journal of Applied Behavioral Science, 47(4), 404-431


For queries, please contact Ibrat Djabbarov i.djabbarov@cranfield.ac.uk.

Sep 30, 2021 03:00 PM in London

Loading
* Required information