Meeting Register Page

Theory Building from Multiple Cases
Speaker: Prof Kathleen Eisenhardt (Stanford)

Time: Wednesday, 4 May at 8am (Pacific) / 11am (Eastern) / 4pm (London). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (including Q&A).

Theory building case research is disproportionately represented among the most highly cited and award-winning research. In this webinar, we will discuss how to build theory from multiple cases – a research strategy that combines theory building with case studies – including how to create theoretical constructs, propositions, and mid-range theory from case-based, empirical evidence. Rigorous theory building from cases centers on strong emergent theory with precise theoretical logic and robust grounding in empirical data. We will explore several challenges of theorizing from multiple cases, including confusion regarding how to judge rigor and choose cases, and how to mitigate them.

Suggested readings:
• Eisenhardt, K.M. (1989) Building Theories from Case Study Research. AMR, 14, 532–550
• Eisenhardt, K.M. and Graebner, M.E. (2007) Theory Building from Cases: Opportunities And Challenges. AMJ, 50, 25–32
• Eisenhardt, K.M. (2021) What is the Eisenhardt Method, really? Strategic Organization. 19(1): 147-160.
• Tidhar, R. and Eisenhardt, K.M. (2020) Get rich or die trying…finding revenue model fit using machine learning and multiple cases. SMJ, 40: 1245-1273.

About the speaker:
- Kathleen Eisenhardt is the Stanford W. Ascherman M.D. Professor and a faculty member in the Stanford Technology Ventures Program.


For queries, please contact Ibrat Djabbarov: i.djabbarov@cranfield.ac.uk.

May 4, 2022 04:00 PM in London

Loading
* Required information