Meeting Register Page

How to Do Relevant Research -- Part 3
Title: Managing Multi-Faceted and Multi-Directional Relationships

Speakers: Dr Philip H. Mirvis, Dr. Susan Albers Mohrman, Prof Rob Cross

Time: Thursday, 2nd December at 7am (Pacific) / 10am (Eastern) / 3pm (London) / 8.30pm (Delhi). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (including Q&A).

Generating and disseminating knowledge relevant to practice requires expanding our conceptual and empirical reach and our aspirations for impact beyond our institutional and discipline-based communities. We focus on the many and multi-faceted relational challenges we face: forming relationships that expand our conceptual and empirical reach; multi-directional communication and exchange of knowledge across boundaries; and addressing challenges associated with doing research in the context of conflicting stakeholder purposes and perspectives. We emphasize the importance of reflection, a clear and transparent sense of purpose, multi-directional communication, and collaboration.

Recommended reading:
• Mirvis, P. H., Mohrman, S. & Worley, C. G. (forthcoming, October 2021) How to Do Relevant Research: From the ivory tower to the real world. Edward-Elgar Publishing
• Edmondson, A. (2011) Crossing boundaries to investigate problems in the field: An approach to useful research. In Mohrman, S. and Lawler, E. (eds.), Useful Research: Advancing Theory and Practice. San Francisco: Berrett-Kohler, p. 50.
• Mirvis, P. H. (1982) Know thyself and what thou art doing: Bringing values and sense into organizational research. American Behavioral Scientist, 26(2), 177-197.
• Shani, A.B. & Coughlan, D. (2021) Collaborative Inquiry for Organization Development and Change. Cheltenham, Eng.: Edward-Elgar Publishers.


For queries, please contact Ibrat Djabbarov i.djabbarov@cranfield.ac.uk.

Dec 2, 2021 03:00 PM in London

Loading
* Required information